Technical actions

surf the line

ACTION PLAN 2021-2030

The 4th Action Plan is structured around three main strategic axes, 12 themes and 29 actions

The technical actions concern 13 actions divided into 10 themes.

As with all the actions, they respond to three strategic axes:

  • Guarantee the water resource while controlling the impact of the uses of the lake
  • Continue to improve the quality of water resources and aquatic environments
  • Stimulating adaptation strategies to climate change

Recreational water activities and bathing water

IMPACTS OF WATER-BASED ACTIVITIES ON THE COASTLINE

The demand for recreational space and leisure activities at the interface with natural environments is constantly increasing, and aquatic environments, and Lake Geneva in particular, are no exception to this rule. These water sports activities generate different levels of disturbance to aquatic ecosystems.

The challenge for the CIPEL is to communicate effectively on the potential negative impacts of nautical activities on natural aquatic environments, and to propose tools and measures to reduce these impacts.

Drinking water resource

EXCHANGE PLATFORM ON THE MONITORING OF DRINKING WATER QUALITY AND TREATMENT

The Lake Geneva is used as a drinking water supply by nearly one million people living along its banks. The various players involved in monitoring the resource and drinking water are constantly striving to adapt monitoring to the development of analytical techniques and improved knowledge of the pressures.

There is currently no body or platform in charge of relaying between the research carried out on the lake waters and the water producers/distributors who could be interested in the evolution of the research. The CIPEL wishes to develop and promote the exchange of information and know-how on the level of analysis techniques and substances researched (which may be present), with water distributors and the Swiss and French health authorities, by creating a collaborative platform.

Climate change

CONTINUE AND STRENGTHEN COMMUNICATION TO USERS ON THE CONSEQUENCES OF CLIMATE CHANGE

Several changes in the operating conditions of the lake ecosystem are due to varying degrees and more or less directly to climate change. These evolutions lead on the one hand to the implementation of adaptation or protection/preservation measures of the services rendered by the ecosystem, and on the other hand possibly to modifications in the perception of the lake.

The appropriation of these adaptation measures by the users of ecosystem services is one of the conditions for their success; it is therefore essential to explain them upstream, and to collect the opinions of users on their implementation.

Rainwater

PROMOTE URBAN WATER MANAGEMENT AND THE FIGHT AGAINST SEALING AND CHRONIC POLLUTION

In urban areas, runoff is often conveyed through a network of pipes before being discharged into the receiving environment. Stormwater is likely to carry contaminants, accumulated pollution from surfaces or pollution from sewerage systems. Stormwater discharges can also cause significant disruption to the hydrological regime of receiving water bodies.

In recent urban contexts, the so-called "at-source" management of stormwater is widely encouraged as a relevant solution to overcome the potential shortcomings of centralised sewerage systems and as a means of reducing the effects of development on the water cycle.

Wastewater

PROMOTE A HARMONISED WAY OF MONITORING WASTEWATER DISCHARGES IN WET WEATHER AND PRESCRIBE TARGETS FOR LIMITING SUCH DISCHARGES

To compensate for the inadequacy of the wastewater transport networks during intense rainfall, specific arrangements are planned so that in the event of overloading due to parasitic clear water, part of the water can be discharged from the pipes. The discharged wastewater which then reaches the watercourses, directly or after a simple screening, or even a settling tank, represents a non-negligible contribution of pollution for the natural environment.

They are estimated at about 10% of the total loads discharged by collective sanitation systems, but the data remain incomplete. The survey carried out by the CIPEL in 2015-2016 among 116 wastewater treatment plants in the Lake Geneva basin highlights the significant proportion of overflows that do not have a discharge monitoring system.

Wastewater

TO DEVELOP COORDINATED CROSS-BORDER ACTION TO REDUCE THE DISCHARGE OF MICROPOLLUTANTS FROM URBAN AND INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER

Micropollutants are substances which, even in very low concentrations, can have harmful effects on aquatic organisms and living organisms in general. In the area of public sewers, the main sources of micropollutants in wastewater are households, health care centres, trade, industry, roads and road outbuildings when they are connected.

Micropollutants in wastewater are not easily degradable and mostly pass through the treatment plant as they are or end up in the water via storm drains. They can also come from diffuse sources.

Exogenous and invasive flora and fauna

ESTABLISH A COMPREHENSIVE MANAGEMENT STRATEGY FOR EXOGENOUS AND UNDESIRABLE FLORA AND FAUNA SPECIES

The number of non-native species colonising aquatic environments is constantly increasing. These species are expanding at the expense of native biodiversity. The damage caused by invasive alien species is increasing.

Measures are needed to limit the spread of invasive and/or undesirable alien species, or even to eradicate them locally where this is realistically possible.

Micropollutants

TO ENHANCE KNOWLEDGE AND PROMOTE THE EXCHANGE OF GOOD PRACTICES BETWEEN AGRICULTURAL ACTORS IN FAVOUR OF AGRICULTURE THAT RESPECTS WATER QUALITY

Plant protection products used to protect crops in the Lake Geneva basin are likely to be found in water, sediments and fish, and to present a risk, even at low concentrations, for humans and the environment. Monitoring of the waters of Lake Geneva shows that many chemical substances can be detected in sometimes significant quantities.

The actions undertaken by the stakeholders of the CIPEL, in particular to reduce the use of phytopharmaceutical products, to develop organic farming and agro-ecology and to ensure the implementation of the best available techniques, testify to the efforts made to limit the transfer of micropollutants from agriculture to the natural environment. These actions must be renewed, strengthened and optimised.

Micropollutants

TO SHARE THE MODALITIES OF ACTION TO REDUCE THE PRESENCE OF DRUG RESIDUES IN THE AQUATIC ENVIRONMENT

Active pharmaceutical ingredients affect, among other things, the reproductive function of fish and amphibians, but also the behaviour of animals. However, there are no reference values to date that would allow a concrete assessment of their impact. However, their presence in the environment is undesirable, especially in waters intended for drinking water supply, such as those of Lake Geneva. However, the presence and impact of active ingredients in water are not well known to the general public.

The CIPEL can play a role in raising the awareness of the different actors, and in particular of the public authorities and the population.

Micropollutants

DISSEMINATING THE RESULTS OF MICROPOLLUTANT MONITORING AND RISK REDUCTION MEASURES

Many micropollutants (pesticides, medicines, cosmetics) have been measured in the waters of Lake Geneva, in sediments and in fish since the mid-2000s. This monitoring has shown that many chemical substances were detectable in sometimes significant quantities and that they could represent a risk, particularly for ecosystems, but also for human health.

With its monitoring and study programme, CIPEL has the potential to raise awareness in this field. To play this role well, it needs a communication strategy that relies on effective and professional instruments.

Thermal use

TO MONITOR THE POSSIBLE EFFECTS OF THE FACILITIES ON THE LAKE ECOSYSTEM

In a desire to reduce the carbon footprint, the use of so-called "green" technologies is expanding rapidly and hydrothermal energy is one of them. Numerous projects for exploiting the thermal potential of the lake have already seen the light of day or are in the process of being launched, in addition to or instead of traditional thermal uses.

However, on a number of environmental issues, it is well known that significant undesirable effects can result from the addition of a large number of projects with individually negligible effects. In the context of global warming, which will have the effect of modifying the thermal characteristics of Lake Geneva, this subject deserves all the more attention.

Aquatic vegetation / Lake Geneva shoreline / Renaturation

TO ESTABLISH AN OVERVIEW OF THE PROGRESS OF THE RENATURATION OF THE LAKE AND RIVER BANKS AND TO ENCOURAGE RENATURATION

In the case of Lake Geneva, where the anthropisation of the shoreline is particularly high (one of the highest of the large Alpine lakes), the restoration of its natural transitional environments is a key long-term challenge, the importance of which will increase with the effects of climate change.

On the watercourses of the Lake Geneva basin, diagnoses of the current state exist and have made it possible to prioritise the actions to be undertaken. Renaturation programmes, including the restoration of fish migration, have been drawn up and actions have been undertaken for several years, but there are still many projects to be carried out. These efforts will have to be continued and probably significantly increased to respond to the foreseeable effects of ongoing climate change.

Aquatic vegetation / Lake Geneva shoreline / Renaturation

CONTINUE TO COMMUNICATE ON THE STATE AND IMPORTANCE OF THE NATURAL ENVIRONMENT AT THE LEVEL OF LAKE GENEVA

The shores of Lake Geneva have a great deal of residual natural wealth that needs to be preserved and renatured. The landscapes of the lake and its shores make it a very popular holiday destination but also a place that is very conducive to many human activities. In a context of strong urbanisation pressure, preserving and restoring the environmental balance is a priority.

Consultation and information are necessary for a sustainable management and a better appropriation and preservation of these spaces by the communities, the inhabitants and the users.

ACTION PLAN 2021-2030

The 4th CIPEL action plan is articulated around three main strategic axes, 12 themes and 29 actions

Follow the news of the CIPEL

and find out the latest lake analysis results and news from our Commission

surf the line

Actions techniques

surf the line

PLAN D'ACTION 2021-2030

Le 4ème plan d’action s’articule autour de trois grands axes stratégiques, 12 thématiques et 29 actions

Les actions techniques concernent 13 actions réparties dans 10 thématiques.

Comme pour l’ensemble des actions, elles répondent à trois axes stratégiques :

  • Garantir la ressource en eau tout en maîtrisant les impacts des usages du lac
  • Poursuivre l’amélioration de la qualité de la ressource en eau et des milieux aquatiques
  • Susciter des stratégies d’adaptation au changement climatique

Activités nautiques de loisirs et eau de baignade

IMPACTS DES ACTIVITÉS NAUTIQUES SUR LE LITTORAL

La demande d’espace récréatif et d’activités de loisirs en interface avec les milieux naturels est en constante expansion, et les milieux aquatiques, le Léman en particulier, n’échappent pas à cette règle. Ces activités nautiques sont génératrices de différents niveaux de perturbation des écosystèmes aquatiques.

L’enjeu à terme pour la CIPEL est de communiquer efficacement sur les impacts négatifs potentiels des activités nautiques sur les milieux naturels aquatiques, et de proposer des outils et mesures visant à réduire ces impacts.

Ressource en eau potable

PLATEFORME D’ECHANGES AUTOUR DE LA SURVEILLANCE DE LA QUALITE ET DU TRAITEMENT DE L’EAU POTABLE

Le Léman est utilisé pour l’alimentation en eau potable par près d’un million de riverains. Les différents acteurs impliqués dans le contrôle de la ressource et de l’eau potable s’efforcent en permanence à adapter la surveillance, en fonction de l’évolution des techniques d’analyse et de l’amélioration des connaissances sur les pressions.

Il n’existe actuellement pas d’instance ou de plateforme chargée de faire le relais entre les recherches réalisées sur les eaux du lac et les producteurs/distributeurs d’eaux qui pourraient être intéressés par l’évolution des recherches. La CIPEL souhaite donc développer et favoriser les échanges d’information, de savoir-faire au niveau des techniques d’analyses, des substances recherchées (pouvant être présentes), avec les distributeurs d’eau et les autorités sanitaires suisses et françaises, en créant une plateforme collaborative.

Changement climatique

POURSUIVRE ET RENFORCER LA COMMUNICATION AUPRES DES USAGERS SUR LES CONSEQUENCES DU CHANGEMENT CLIMATIQUE

Plusieurs évolutions des conditions de fonctionnement de l’écosystème lacustre sont dues à des degrés divers et plus ou moins directement aux changements climatiques.  Ces évolutions entrainent d’une part la mise en place de mesures d’adaptation ou de protection/préservation des services rendus par l’écosystème, et d’autre part possiblement des modifications de perception du lac.

L’appropriation de ces mesures d’adaptation par les usagers des services rendus par l’écosystème est une des conditions de leur succès ; il est donc essentiel de les expliquer à l’amont, et de recueillir l’avis des usagers sur leur mise en œuvre.

Eaux pluviales

PROMOUVOIR LA GESTION DES EAUX URBAINES ET LA LUTTE CONTRE L’IMPERMÉABILISATION ET LES POLLUTIONS CHRONIQUES

En milieu urbain, les eaux de ruissellement sont souvent acheminées vers un réseau de canalisations avant d’être évacuées dans le milieu récepteur. Les eaux pluviales sont susceptibles de véhiculer des contaminants, la pollution accumulée par les surfaces ou la pollution par les réseaux d’assainissement. Les rejets d’eaux pluviales peuvent également être à l’origine de perturbations significatives du régime hydrologique des cours d’eau récepteurs.

Dans les contextes urbains récents, la gestion dite « à la source » des eaux pluviales est largement encouragée car considérée à la fois comme une solution pertinente pour pallier les éventuelles insuffisances des systèmes d’assainissement centralisés et comme un moyen de réduire les effets des aménagements sur le cycle de l’eau.

Eaux usées

PROMOUVOIR UN MODE HARMONISÉ DE SUIVI DES DÉVERSEMENTS D'EAUX USÉES PAR TEMPS DE PLUIE ET PRESCRIRE DES OBJECTIFS LIMITANT CES DÉVERSEMENTS

Pour pallier l’insuffisance des réseaux de transport des eaux usées lors de phénomènes pluvieux intenses, des aménagements spécifiques sont prévus afin qu’en cas de surcharge du fait d’eaux claires parasites, une part des eaux puisse être déversée hors des canalisations. Les eaux usées déversées qui rejoignent alors les cours d’eau, directement ou après un dégrillage simple, voire un bassin de décantation, représentent des apports non négligeables de pollution pour les milieux naturels.

On les estime à environ 10% des charges totales déversées par les systèmes d’assainissement collectif, mais les données restent lacunaires. L’enquête réalisée par la CIPEL en 2015-2016 auprès de 116 stations d’épuration du bassin versant lémanique met en lumière la part significative de déversoirs ne disposant pas de système de suivi de déversement.

Eaux usées

DÉVELOPPER UNE ACTION COORDONNÉE TRANSFRONTALIÈRE EN VUE DE RÉDUIRE LES REJETS DE MICROPOLLUANTS ISSUS DES EAUX USÉES URBAINES ET INDUSTRIELLES

Les micropolluants sont des substances qui même en concentration très faible peuvent avoir des effets néfastes sur les organismes aquatiques et plus généralement sur les êtres vivants. Dans le périmètre des égouts publics, les principales sources de micropolluants dans les eaux usées sont les ménages, les centres de soins, l’artisanat, les industries, les voiries et les dépendances de voiries lorsqu’elles sont raccordées.

Les micropolluants dans les eaux usées sont difficilement dégradables et traversent la plupart du temps tels quels la station d’épuration ou aboutissent dans les eaux via les déversoirs d’orage. Ils peuvent également provenir de sources diffuses.

Flore et faune exogène et invasive

ETABLIR UNE STRATÉGIE GLOBALE DE GESTION POUR LES ESPÈCES FLORISTIQUES ET FAUNISTIQUES EXOGÈNES ET INDÉSIRABLES

Le nombre d’espèces allochtones colonisant les milieux aquatiques croît sans cesse. Ces espèces sont en expansion au détriment de la biodiversité autochtone. Les dommages imputables aux espèces exotiques envahissantes sont en augmentation.

Des mesures s’imposent afin de limiter l’expansion des espèces exotiques envahissantes et/ou indésirables, voire les éradiquer localement quand cela est réaliste de façon raisonnable.

Micropolluants

VALORISER LES CONNAISSANCES ET FAVORISER LES ÉCHANGES DE BONNES PRATIQUES ENTRE LES ACTEURS AGRICOLES EN FAVEUR D’UNE AGRICULTURE RESPECTUEUSE DE LA QUALITÉ DES EAUX

Les produits phytopharmaceutiques, utilisés pour la protection des cultures du bassin lémanique sont susceptibles de se retrouver dans les eaux, les sédiments et les poissons, et de présenter un risque même à de faibles concentrations, pour l’homme et l’environnement. Le monitoring des eaux du Léman montre que beaucoup de substances chimiques sont détectables en quantité parfois non négligeable.

Les actions engagées par les parties prenantes de la CIPEL, notamment pour diminuer l’usage des produits phytopharmaceutiques, pour développer l’agriculture biologique et l’agro-écologie et pour veiller à la mise en œuvre des meilleures techniques disponibles, témoignent des efforts mis en œuvre pour limiter les transferts de micropolluants provenant de l’agriculture vers les milieux naturels. Ces actions doivent être reconduites, renforcées et optimisées.

Micropolluants

PARTAGER LES MODALITÉS D'ACTIONS POUR RÉDUIRE LA PRÉSENCE DES RÉSIDUS MÉDICAMENTEUX DANS LES MILIEUX AQUATIQUES

Les principes actifs pharmaceutiques affectent entre autres la fonction reproductrice des poissons et des amphibiens, mais aussi le comportement des animaux. Il n’existe toutefois pas à ce jour de valeurs de référence permettant d’estimer concrètement leur impact. Leur présence dans l’environnement n’est toutefois pas souhaitable, notamment dans des eaux destinées à l’alimentation en eau potable, comme celles du Léman. La présence et l’impact des principes actifs dans les eaux ne sont cependant que peu connus du grand public.

La CIPEL peut jouer un rôle de sensibilisation des différents acteurs, et notamment auprès des collectivités publiques et de la population.

Micropolluants

FAIRE CONNAITRE LES RESULTATS DU MONITORING DES MICROPOLLUANTS ET LES MESURES DE REDUCTION DES RISQUES

De nombreux micropolluants (pesticides, médicaments, cosmétiques) sont mesurés dans les eaux du Léman, dans les sédiments et dans les poissons depuis le milieu des années 2000. Ce monitoring a montré que beaucoup de substances chimiques étaient détectables en quantité parfois non négligeable et qu’elles pourraient représenter un risque, notamment pour les écosystèmes, mais également pour la santé humaine.

Avec son programme de surveillance et d’études, la CIPEL a le potentiel pour alerter dans ce domaine. Pour bien jouer ce rôle, elle doit être dotée d’une stratégie de communication qui s’appuie sur des instruments efficaces et professionnels.

Utilisation thermique

METTRE EN PLACE UN SUIVI DES EFFETS POSSIBLES DES INSTALLATIONS SUR L'ÉCOSYSTÈME LACUSTRE

Dans une volonté de réduire le bilan carbone, l’utilisation de technologies dites « vertes » est en pleine expansion et l’hydrothermie en fait partie. De nombreux projets d’exploitation du potentiel thermique du lac ont déjà vu ou sont en train de voir le jour qui s’ajoutent ou se substituent aux usages thermiques classiques.

Toutefois, il est notoire, sur un certain nombre de sujets environnementaux, que des effets indésirables significatifs peuvent résulter de l’addition d’un grand nombre de projets aux effets individuellement négligeables. Dans le contexte de réchauffement climatique qui aura pour effet de modifier les caractéristiques thermiques du Léman, ce sujet mérite d’autant plus attention.

Végétation aquatique / Rives du Léman / Renaturation

ETABLIR UNE VISION D'ENSEMBLE DE L'AVANCEMENT DES TRAVAUX DE RENATURATION DES RIVES DU LAC ET DES RIVIÈRES ET ENCOURAGER LA RENATURATION

Dans le cas du Léman, dont l’anthropisation des rives est particulièrement élevée (l’une des plus élevées des grands lacs alpins), la restauration de ses milieux naturels de transition constitue un enjeu essentiel pour le long terme, dont l’importance croîtra avec les effets du changement climatique.

Sur les cours d’eau du bassin lémanique, les diagnostics de l’état actuel existent et ont permis de prioriser les actions à entreprendre. Ainsi, des programmes de renaturation, y compris le rétablissement de la migration piscicole, ont été élaborés et des actions ont été entreprises depuis plusieurs années, mais il reste encore de nombreux projets à réaliser. Ces efforts devront être poursuivis et sans doute significativement augmentés pour répondre aux effets prévisibles du changement climatique en cours.

Végétation aquatique / Rives du Léman / Renaturation

POURSUIVRE LA COMMUNICATION SUR L'ÉTAT ET L'IMPORTANCE DES MILIEUX NATURELS À L'ÉCHELLE DU LÉMAN

Les rives du Léman présentent une grande richesse naturelle résiduelle à préserver et renaturer. Les paysages du lac et de ses rives en font un lieu de villégiature très apprécié mais aussi un endroit très propice à de nombreuses activités humaines. Dans un contexte de forte pression d’urbanisation, préserver et restaurer les équilibres environnementaux est une priorité.

Une concertation et information sont nécessaires pour une gestion durable et une meilleure appropriation et préservation de ces espaces par les collectivités, les habitants et les usagers.

PLAN D'ACTION 2021-2030

Le 4e plan d’action de la CIPEL s’articule autour de trois grands axes stratégiques, 12 thématiques et 29 actions

Suivez les actualités de la CIPEL

et découvrez les derniers résultats d’analyse du lac et les actualités de notre Commission

surf the line