surf the line

THE 4 SEASONS OF LEMAN

To what extent does the lake warm up or cool down during the year? How does its oxygen level change? And how does its transparency and the development of algae fluctuate? To better understand how it works, follow the evolution of the lake through the seasons.

Lake Geneva in autumn

Cooling and end of algal growth

In autumn, the lake remains divided into three superimposed layers of water: the epilimnion (warm), the metalimnion (warm) and the hypolimnion (cold). The drop in air temperature and the shorter daylight hours cause the epilimnion to cool and mix with the metalimnion.

The summer development of the algae in suspension in the water has led to a decrease in the content of nutrients (mainly nitrogen and phosphorus) necessary for their development in the epilimnion. As the metalimnion is richer in nutrients than the epilimnion, the autumn cooling remobilises nutrients to the surface, and this remobilisation allows the algae to continue to grow. The more algae there are, the less transparent the surface water becomes.

Algae are important for the functioning of the lake as they form the basis of the food chain. Most of them are not a problem, but some species are problematic: those that clog fishing nets, and toxic cyanobacteria.

When the algae die, they sediment towards the bottom. Their decomposition during sedimentation consumes oxygen and lowers the oxygen content in the hypolimnion.

Limnological Bulletin - Autumn 2021

The temperature of the waters of Lake Geneva in autumn

In autumn, the lake remains divided into three superimposed layers of water. A surface layer that is almost homogeneous in temperature (epilimnion), below this a layer where the temperature decreases rapidly as the depth increases (metalimnion), and deeper down a layer that is relatively homogeneous in temperature and cold (hypolimnion). The decrease in air temperature and the shortening of the daylight hours lead to a cooling of the epilimnion which mixes with the metalimnion. The autumn cooling is characterised by a thickening of the epilimnion to a depth of about 50 m.

Newsletter

Subscribe to the quarterly CIPEL newsletter which reports on the latest lake analysis results and CIPEL news.

Limnological bulletin

Discover the latest data on temperature, Secchi transparency, turbidity and chlorophyll a concentration and their evolution.

surf the line

surf the line

LES 4 SAISONS DU LÉMAN

Dans quelle mesure le lac se réchauffe ou se refroidit-il au cours de l’année ? Comment évolue son taux d’oxygène ? Et comment fluctuent sa transparence et le développement d’algues ? Pour mieux appréhender son fonctionnement, suivez l’évolution du lac au rythme des saisons.

Le Léman en automne

Refroidissement et poursuite du développement algal

En automne, le lac reste divisé en 3 couches d’eau superposées : l’épilimnion (chaud), le métalimnion (tiède), l’hypolimnion (froid). La baisse de la température de l’air et le raccourcissement de la durée du jour entraînent un refroidissement de l’épilimnion qui se mélange avec le métalimnion.

Le développement estival des algues en suspension dans l’eau a entraîné, dans l’épilimnion, une baisse de la teneur en nutriments nécessaires à leur développement (azote et phosphore principalement). Le métalimnion étant plus riche en nutriments que l’épilimnion, le refroidissement automnal remobilise des nutriments vers la surface, et cette remobilisation permet aux algues de continuer à se développer. Plus il y a d’algues, moins les eaux de surface sont transparentes.

Les algues sont importantes pour le fonctionnement du lac car elles constituent la base de la chaîne alimentaire. La majorité d’entre elles ne pose pas de problème, mais certaines espèces sont problématiques : celles qui colmatent les filets de pêche, et les cyanobactéries toxiques.

Quand les algues meurent, elles sédimentent en direction du fond. Leur décomposition au cours de la sédimentation consomme de l’oxygène et abaisse la teneur en oxygène dans l’hypolimnion.

Bulletin limnologique – Automne 2021

La température des eaux du Léman en automne

En automne, le lac reste divisé en 3 couches d’eau superposées. Une couche de surface quasiment homogène en température (épilimnion), en-dessous une couche où la température diminue rapidement quand la profondeur augmente (métalimnion), et plus en profondeur une couche relativement homogène en température et froide (hypolimnion). La baisse de la température de l’air et le raccourcissement de la durée du jour entraînent un refroidissement de l’épilimnion qui se mélange avec le métalimnion. Le refroidissement automnal se caractérise par un épaississement de l’épilimnion allant jusqu’à environ 50 m de profondeur.

Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter trimestrielle de la CIPEL qui fait état des derniers résultats d’analyse du lac et des actualités de la CIPEL.

Bulletin limnologique

Découvrez les dernières données de mesure de température, de transparence de Secchi, de turbidité et de concentration en chlorophylle a, ainsi que leur évolution.

surf the line